Only 2 LibDems signed crucial NHS EDM1188 so far. Act now to make more.

[UPDATE: as of this morning – 21 March – the number of MPS that have signed the motion is now 72. And STILL only 2 LibDems – shameful. Please keep pressing them!]

I wrote last week about the importance of pressing LibDem MPs to sign EDM1188, the crucial parliamentary motion that aims to block the government’s attempt to force Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) to include private bidders in every NHS contract.

So far, only 1 LibDem – apart from Andrew George who co-sponsored the motion – is among the 59 who have signed it, which is a disgrace. Since the slippery Tories didn’t change the 1 April launch date for the regulations when they amended them, it’s more urgent than ever to apply pressure to LibDem MPs to sign the motion so that the Tories are forced to back down and scrap these undemocratic regulations that will privatise the NHS piece by piece, contract by contract and make it almost impossible to reconstruct.

Below is a table of LibDem MPs who have not yet signed EDM1188. If you live in their constituencies, please email them via www.theyworkforyou.com and whether you live in their constituency or not, then tweet to them on Twitter so they start to get the message and do the right thing!

MP’s name Constituency Twitter ID Signed EDM1188
Alexander, Danny Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey @dannyalexander NO
Baker, Norman Lewes   NO
Beith, Alan Berwick-upon-Tweed   NO
Birtwistle, Gordon Burnley @gbirtwhistle_mp NO
Brake, Tom Carshalton and Wallington @thomasbrake NO
Browne, Jeremy Taunton Deane   NO
Bruce, Malcolm Gordon @malcolmbruce NO
Burstow, Paul Sutton and Cheam @paulburstow NO
Burt, Lorely Solihull @lorelyburt NO
Cable, Vince Twickenham @vincecable NO
Campbell, Menzies North East Fife @mingcampbellmp NO
Carmichael, Alistair Orkney and Shetland @acarmichaelmp NO
Clegg, Nick Sheffield, Hallam @nick_clegg NO
Crockart, Mike Edinburgh West @CrockartMP NO
Davey, Edward Kingston and Surbiton @eddaveykands NO
Featherstone, Lynne Hornsey and Wood Green @lfeatherstone NO
Foster, Don Bath @donfostermp NO
Gilbert, Stephen St Austell and Newquay @stephen_gilbert NO
Hames, Duncan Chippenham @duncanhames NO
Harvey, Nick North Devon   NO
Heath, David Somerton and Frome @davidheathmp NO
Hughes, Simon Bermondsey and Old Southwark @simonhughesmp NO
Hunter, Mark Cheadle @markhuntermp NO
Kennedy, Charles Ross, Skye and Lochaber @charles_kennedy NO
Lamb, Norman North Norfolk @normanlamb NO
Laws, David Yeovil   NO
Lloyd, Stephen Eastbourne   NO
Moore, Michael Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk @michaelmooremp NO
Munt, Tessa Wells @tessamunt NO
Pugh, John Southport @johnpughmp NO
Reid, Alan Argyll and Bute   NO
Rogerson, Dan North Cornwall   NO
Russell, Bob Colchester   NO
Sanders, Adrian Torbay @adriansandersmp NO
Smith, Robert West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine   NO
Stunell, Andrew Hazel Grove   NO
Swales, Ian Redcar @iswales NO
Swinson, Jo East Dunbartonshire @joswinson NO
Teather, Sarah Brent Central   NO
Thornton, Mike Eastleigh @mike4eastleigh NO
Thurso, John Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross   NO
Ward, David Bradford East @davidwardmp NO
Webb, Steve Thornbury and Yate @stevewebb1 NO
Williams, Mark Ceredigion @mark4ceredigion NO
Williams, Stephen Bristol West @swilliamsmp NO
Willott, Jenny Cardiff Central @jennywillott NO
Wright, Simon Norwich South @simonwrightmp NO
Horwood, Martin Cheltenham @martinchelt NO
Hancock, Mike Portsmouth South   NO
Brooke, Annette Mid Dorset and North Poole @annette4MDNP NO
Williams, Roger Brecon and Radnorshire @rogerwilliamsmp NO
Hemming, John Birmingham Yardley @johnhemmingmp NO
Mulholland, Greg Leeds North West @gregmulholland1 NO
Huppert, Julian Cambridge @julianhuppert NO
Farron, Tim Westmorland and Lonsdale @timfarron NO
Leech, John Manchester Withington @johnleechmcr NO

1 comment

Leave a Reply