Urgent: contact these LD MPs who’ve not yet signed EDM 1188 to save NHS

EDIT: I’ve just been advised by Shadow Health Minister Andrew Gwynne that EDM 1104 has been replaced by a new EDM1188 – so new that it’s not yet even up on the Parliament website. Signatories to EDM1104 are not automatically carried forward to 1188, so I’ve added the remaining LibDem MPs who already signed 1104, apart from Andrew George who is co-sponsor of the new EDM as well as of the previous one – please write to them too!)

Commons ‘Early Day Motion 1104’ (now replaced by EDM 1188 which addresses the government’s revised version of its ‘secondary legislation’) was submitted by Labour MPs along with Green Party MP Caroline Lucas and LibDem MP (and health select committee member) Andrew George.

This vital new EDM aims to annull the government’s ‘secondary legislation’ under Section 75 of the NHS Act. The first version of this legislation was a clear attempt by the government to force Clinical Commissioning Groups to invite private health providers to bid for all NHS contracts.

That version was withdrawn because of Labour’s staunch resistance and a brave stand by LibDem Andrew George. Jeremy Hunt said the new rules would be rewritten to resolve LibDem concerns – but the new version is just as bad for a genuine, national NHS as the first was.

A few LibDem MPs signed this vital motion – but far more did not. The success of this motion hangs on the remaining LibDems (and perhaps a few honest Tories) doing the right thing and signing the new EDM1188 so that the government knows that it will be defeated if it proceeds.

Congratulations to those LibDems who did the right thing with the previous EDM. But it’s essential to get them and the rest of their colleagues to sign up to the new one, too.

If you live in a LibDem constituency, please write to your MP via TheyWorkForYou and demand that they sign. With enough pressure, we can make sure that this particular attempt to dismantle the NHS is strangled at birth.

(EDIT: I’ve now added Twitter IDs where available, so please tweet AND email, to make sure they get the message!)

The LibDems who did not sign EDM1104 are:

MP’s name Constituency Twitter ID
Alexander, Danny Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey @dannyalexander
Baker, Norman Lewes
Beith, Alan Berwick-upon-Tweed
Birtwistle, Gordon Burnley @gbirtwhistle_mp
Brake, Tom Carshalton and Wallington @thomasbrake
Browne, Jeremy Taunton Deane
Bruce, Malcolm Gordon @malcolmbruce
Burstow, Paul Sutton and Cheam @paulburstow
Burt, Lorely Solihull @lorelyburt
Cable, Vince Twickenham @vincecable
Campbell, Menzies North East Fife @mingcampbellmp
Carmichael, Alistair Orkney and Shetland @acarmichaelmp
Clegg, Nick Sheffield, Hallam @nick_clegg
Crockart, Mike Edinburgh West @CrockartMP
Davey, Edward Kingston and Surbiton @eddaveykands
Featherstone, Lynne Hornsey and Wood Green @lfeatherstone
Foster, Don Bath @donfostermp
Gilbert, Stephen St Austell and Newquay @stephen_gilbert
Hames, Duncan Chippenham @duncanhames
Harvey, Nick North Devon
Heath, David Somerton and Frome @davidheathmp
Hughes, Simon Bermondsey and Old Southwark @simonhughesmp
Hunter, Mark Cheadle @markhuntermp
Kennedy, Charles Ross, Skye and Lochaber @charles_kennedy
Lamb, Norman North Norfolk @normanlamb
Laws, David Yeovil
Lloyd, Stephen Eastbourne
Moore, Michael Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk @michaelmooremp
Munt, Tessa Wells @tessamunt
Pugh, John Southport @johnpughmp
Reid, Alan Argyll and Bute
Rogerson, Dan North Cornwall
Russell, Bob Colchester
Sanders, Adrian Torbay @adriansandersmp
Smith, Robert West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
Stunell, Andrew Hazel Grove
Swales, Ian Redcar @iswales
Swinson, Jo East Dunbartonshire @joswinson
Teather, Sarah Brent Central
Thornton, Mike Eastleigh @mike4eastleigh
Thurso, John Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross
Ward, David Bradford East @davidwardmp
Webb, Steve Thornbury and Yate @stevewebb1
Williams, Mark Ceredigion @mark4ceredigion
Williams, Stephen Bristol West @swilliamsmp
Willott, Jenny Cardiff Central @jennywillott
Wright, Simon Norwich South @simonwrightmp

Those who did sign 1104, but need to be reminded to sign the new EDM1188 are:

Horwood, Martin Cheltenham @martinchelt
Hancock, Mike Portsmouth South
Brooke, Annette Mid Dorset and North Poole @annette4MDNP
Williams, Roger Brecon and Radnorshire @rogerwilliamsmp
Hemming, John Birmingham Yardley @johnhemmingmp
Mulholland, Greg Leeds North West @gregmulholland1
Huppert, Julian Cambridge @julianhuppert
Farron, Tim Westmorland and Lonsdale @timfarron
Leech, John Manchester Withington @johnleechmcr

Thank you!


Leave a Reply